Tomodachi

For a quick lunch with my sister, we were both craving some delicious Japanese food, so we walked down to Tomodachi in Rhodes!

Food:
I ordered my favourite dish – the chicken okonomiyaki, which is a Japanese savoury pancake containing cabbage, onions, chicken and a special sauce on top. Fun fact: the name is derived from the word okonomi, meaning “what you like”, and yaki meaning “grilled”! The recipe has changed slightly since I last had it, as they no longer have flaky onion pieces on the top, and the pancake itself was very dense, rich and somewhat undercooked, so I was a bit disappointed.

My sister opted for the teriyaki chicken bento box, which contained some pieces of sushi, salmon, soba noodles, chicken teriyaki and rice, and a salad, with soy sauce and wasabi in the centre. She really enjoyed her dish, and found the rice so tasty and flavoursome, and the noodles delicious as well. I had a sneaky bite of her sushi which was also very good, and would probably opt for some sushi from the sushi train for another visit.

Ambience:
We came for a late lunch, and the restaurant wasn’t busy at all, but service was quite slow, which was a shame. There is ample seating inside and outside as well, and nice natural lighting which we appreciated on a sunny day! We ordered a-la-carte but you can also select items off the sushi train, although for a larger meal, the menu items would be best.

Overall:
While I didn’t enjoy my experience as much as I thought I would, my sister thoroughly enjoyed her dish. The bento boxes are the way to go, so give those a try!

Tomodachi Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

